Committees

The Association has a combined total of twenty-four active Committees and Delegates, whose scope covers all aspects of intellectual property law and practice and related topics, including alternative dispute resolution, legislative oversight and amicus briefs, meetings and forums, and continuing legal education.

Take advantage of volunteering for one of our many committees! You will have the opportunity to be part of a professionally rewarding activity and develop a strong network that will endure throughout your career. Volunteer activities include helping plan a CLE program, speaking at an event, writing articles for publications and more. Explore the scope of the committees. Committee selection process is open to only members and takes place in May for a one year term. However, if you miss the deadline, you can contact the Committee Chair regarding your interest to volunteer.

 

Scope of the Committee
To coordinate the activities of the Association relating to preparation and submission of amicus briefs, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Aron Fischer, Co-Chair
Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP
afischer@pbwt.com
David Goldberg​, Co-Chair
Amster Rothstein & Ebentstein LLP
dgoldberg@arelaw.com  

Board Liaison: Robert Isackson
Members: Thomas Bean, Derrick Carman, Nicole Conlon, Christopher Glancy, Gina Kim, Frederick Millett, Steven Purdy, Peter Sullivan, Kathleen Waybourn

>>Committee Member Login


The NYIPLA Amicus Breifs are accessible at http://www.nyipla.org/nyipla/AmicusBriefsNews.asp
Scope of the Committee
To consider all aspects of United States, foreign and multi-national copyright law and practice, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Tatsuya Adachi, Co-Chair
Leichtman Law PLLC
tadachi@leichtmanlaw.com
Lauren Emerson​, Co-Chair
Leason Ellis LLP
emerson@leasonellis.com  

Board Liaison: Kathleen McCarthy
Members: Stephen Ankrom, Eroide Alphonse, Andrew Brassler, Reece Brassler, Wayne Cox, Robert Fischer, Elliot Shine

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To consider intellectual property issues having an impact on in-house intellectual property counsel, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Steven Purdy, Co-Chair
IBM Corporate Litigation
Laura Sheridan​, Co-Chair
Google, Inc.

Board Liaison: Marian Underweiser
Members: Tulloss Delk, Paul Diamond, Joshua Harris, David Kaplan, George MacDonald, Gerard McGowan, Colman Ragan, Louis Sorell, James Sterner

>>Committee Member Login
Patrice Jean, Co-Chair
Hughes Hubbard & Reed LLP
patrice.jean@hugheshubbard.com
Thomas Meloro​, Co-Chair
Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP
tmeloro@willkie.com  


The NYIPLA Hon. Giles S. Rich Diversity Scholarship Recipients can be found at http://www.nyipla.org/nyipla/DiversityScholarship.asp
Scope of the Committee
To publicize and conduct a law school writing competition on an intellectual property law topic, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Richard Brown, Co-Chair
Day Pitney LLP
rbrown@daypitney.com
Keith McWha​, Co-Chair
Lerner David Littenberg Krumholz & Mentlik LLP
kmcwha@lernerdavid.com  

Board Liaison: William McCabe

The Hon. William C. Conner Writing Competition Winners can be found at http://www.nyipla.org/nyipla/ConnerWritingAwards.asp
Scope of the Committee
To solicit, gather, and review nominations for the Inventor of the Year award, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Brian Prew, Co-Chair
Greenberg Traurig LLP
prewb@gtlaw.com
Ksenia Takhistova​, Co-Chair
Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP
ktakhistova@HuntonAK.com  

Board Liaison: Mark Bloomberg

The NYIPLA Inventor of the Year Recipients can be found at http://www.nyipla.org/nyipla/InventoroftheYearAward.asp
Scope of the Committee
To consider aspects of law firm management, particularly as they pertain to law firms and practice groups practicing intellectual property, and to publish and present as appropriate on such topics with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Edward Tulin, Co-Chair
Skadden Arps Slate Meager & Flom LLP
edward.tulin@skadden.com
​, 


Board Liaison: David Leichtman
Members: Nehal Madhani, Robert Roby

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To evaluate proposed federal and state legislation and rules, including PTO and Court rules, that may impact patent and other intellectual property issues; to develop positions and recommendations on the proposed legislation and rules for consideration by the NYIPLA Board of Directors; and to communicate the NYIPLA's positions and recommendations to the legislative and rule-making bodies, as approved by the Board.

Dorothy Auth, Co-Chair
Cadwalader Wickersham & Taft LLP
dorothy.auth@cwt.com
Jeffrey Butler​, Co-Chair
Lonza Inc. / LPB Biotech Segment Head
butler999@gmail.com  

Board Liaison: Annemarie Hassett
Members: Daniel Brownstone, Catharina Chin Eng, Robert Isackson, Daniel McGlynn, Colman Ragan, Robert Rando, Irena Royzman, Heather Schneider, Louis Sorell, Peter Thurlow

>>Committee Member Login


The NYIPLA Leigslative Actions are accessible at http://www.nyipla.org/nyipla/Legislative_Action.asp.
Scope of the Committee
To coordinate and oversee the public dissemination of significant news regarding key, IP-related legislative and court developments, as well as NYIPLA programs, events, activities and significant achievements, and to make reports and recommendations to the Board of Directors with respect to the foregoing.

Brian Prew, Co-Chair
Notaro Michalos & Zaccaria PC
brian.doyle@notaromichalos.com
Dan Fischer​, Co-Chair
Knobbe Martens Olson & Bear LLP
dan.fischer@knobbe.com  

Board Liaison: Alicia Russo
Members: Suzanna Morales

>>Committee Member Login
Walter Hanley, Chair
Andrews Kurth Kenyon
walterhanley@andrewskurthkenyon.com

Scope of the Committee
To consider all aspects of patent laws and practice which affect the rights of United States entities in technology and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Jonathan Berschadsky, Co-Chair
Merchant & Gould PC
jberschadsky@merchantgould.com
Carl Wischhusen​, Co-Chair
Buckley Maschoff & Talwalkar LLC
cwischhusen@bmtpatent.com 

Board Liaison: Douglas Nemec
Members: Thomas Bean, Andrew Berks, Nicholas Bertram, Daniel Brownstone, Michael Carmen, Andrew Chien, Khue Hoang, David Kaplan, Fritz Klantschi, Jason LaBerteaux, Tanya Leavy, Karen Mangasarian, Brian McCloskey, Gerard McGowan, Jason Poulos, Eric Saparli, Ryan Schneer, Elliot Shine, Antoaneta Tarpanova

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To consider legislation and rules affecting practice and procedural matters in intellectual property litigation outside the Patent and Trademark Office, and other matters relating to practice in such litigation, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Gene Lee, Co-Chair
Perkins Coie LLP
glee@perkinscoie.com
Marc Pensabene​, Co-Chair
O'Melveny & Myers LLP
mpensabene@omm.com 

Board Liaison: Robert Rando
Members: Ken Adamo, James Barabas, Steve Baughman, Kenneth Canfield, Derrick Carman, Jennifer Cieluch, Nicole Conlon, Chi Eng, Peter Gergely, Ryan Hersh, Leslie Kushner, Bernadette Lopez, Douglas Nemec, Richard Parke, Eric Saparli, John Stellabotte, James Sterner, Ron Vogel, Stuart Yothers

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To consider all aspects of internet and privacy law in the United States, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Duane Cranston, Co-Chair
Cohen & Gresser LLP
dcranston@cohengresser.com
Anna Schoenfelder​, Co-Chair
Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP
aschoenfelder@kramerlevin.com 

Board Liaison: William McCabe
Members: Chantelle Gyamfi, Robert Fischer, Jason LaBerteaux, Richard Parke

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To formulate and present a series of monthly continuing legal educational programs of interest to the broad spectrum of the Association's membership, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Jonathan Auerbach, Co-Chair
Radulescu LLP
jonathan@radip.com
Jenny Lee​, Co-Chair
Fay Kuplun & Marchin LLP
jlee@fkmiplaw.com 

Board Liaison: Colman Ragan
Members: Mark Bloomberg, Andrew Berks, Lynn Russo

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To provide thought leadership in legislation, rules and litigation relating to post-issuance proceedings before the Patent Trial and Appeals Board ("PTAB"), and to make recommendations to the Board. Also to provide lectures and information on latest trends and practice pointers for practice before the PTAB and appeals from PTAB decisions.

Frank DeLucia Jr., Co-Chair
Merchant & Gould PC
fdelucia@merchantgould.com
Charles Macedo​, Co-Chair
Amster Rothstein & Ebenstein LLP
cmacedo@arelaw.com 

Board Liaison: Peter Thurlow
Members: Ken Adamo, Jacob Baldinger, Steve Baughman, Jonathan Berschadsky, Derrick Carman, Chi Eng, Peter Gergely, Jung Hahm, Cynthia Hardman, Joshua Harris, Ryan Hersh, Khue Hoag, Robert Isackson, Fritz Klantschi, Richard Koehl, Jason LaBerteaux, Andrew Larsen, Gene Lee, Lisamarie LoGiudice, Bernadette Lopez, Frederick Millett, Brian Murphy, Marc Pensabene, Jeffrey Price, Robert Rando, Robert Roby, Eric Saparli, John Stellabotte, Jonathan Stroud, Peter Sullivan, Ksenia Takhistova, William Thomashower, Peter Thurlow, Clifford Ulrich, Kathleen Waybourn, Joel Weiss

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To prepare, edit, publish and disseminate such publications as may be requested by the Board of Directors, and to make recommendations to the Board of Directors

TaeRa Franklin, Co-Chair
Holland & Hart LLP
tkfranklin@hollandhart.com
Liz MurphyCo-Chair
Haug Partners LLP
emurphy@haugpartners.com 
Jessica Sblendorio, Co-Chair
Haug Partners LLP
jsblendorio@haugpartners.com

Board Liaison: Mark Bloomberg
Members: Dale Carlson, Jayson Cohen, Wayne Cox, William Dippert, Robert Greenfeld, Mitchell Hadley, Keith McWha, Ben Natter, Lauren Nowierski, Margaret Welsh

>>Committee Member Login
Wansheng Jerry Liu, Delegate
Fox Rothschild LLP
WLiu@foxrothschild.com
Brian Rothery​, Delegate
Fox Rothschild LLP
brothery@foxrothschild.com 
Scope of the Committee
To provide input and support to the Board of Directors in developing and implementing a Strategic Plan designed to enhance the long term direction and impact of the NYIPLA.

Robert Isackson, Co-Chair
Leason Ellis LLP
isackson@leasonellis.com
Kathleen McCartyCo-Chair
King & Spalding LLP
kmccarthy@kslaw.com 
Colman Ragan, Co-Chair
Teva Pharmaceuticals Industries Ltd
colman.ragan@actavis.com

Board Liaison: Peter Thurlow
Scope of the Committee
To consider all aspects of trademark law and practice, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Michael Cannata, Co-Chair
Rivkin Radler LLP
michael.cannata@rivkin.com
Scott Greenberg​, Co-Chair
Locke Lord LLP
sgreenberg@lockelord.com 

Board Liaison: Dyan Finguerra-DuCharme
Members: Shiran Bayin, James Bikoff, Heather Bowen, Reece Brassler, Natasa Colovic, Wayne Cox, Ursula Day, Christopher Glancy, Daivd Goldberg, Lindsay Korotkin, Terra Melson, Dorna Mohaghegh, Suzanna Morales, Gabrielle Nagler, Antoaneta Tarpanova

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To consider all aspects of trade secret law in the United States and other jurisdictions having an impact on the United States, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Laura Chubb, Co-Chair
Haug Partners LLP
lchubb@haugpartners.com
Mark Schildkraut​, Co-Chair
Becton Dickinson and Company
mark.schildkraut@bd.com 

Board Liaison: John Moehringer
Members: Daniel McGlynn, Stuart Yothers

>>Committee Member Login
Samson Helfgott, Delegate
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
samson.helfgott@kattenlaw.com
Thomas Spath​, Delegate
Abelman Frayne & Schwab
tespath@lawabel.com 
Raymond Farrell, Delegate
Carter DeLuca Farrell & Schmidt LLP
rfarrell@cdfslaw.com
John Pegram​, Co-Chair
Fish & Richardson PC
pegram@fr.com 
Scope of the Committee
To facilitate and empower women in their practice of intellectual property law with respect thereto the Board of Directors.

Jessica Copeland, Co-Chair
Hodgson Russ LLP
jcopeland@hodgsonruss.com
Abigail Langsam​, Co-Chair
Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP
abigail.langsam@apks.com 

Board Liaison: Irena Royzman
Members: Laura Chubb, Jennifer Cieluch, Nicole Colovic, Nicole Conlon, Ursula Day, Stephanie DelPonte, Leslie Kushner, Tanya Leavy, Karen Mangasarian, Tara Melillo, Lauren Nowierski, Cheryl Wang

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To address the concerns and needs of minorities, women and newly-admitted lawyers, and to report with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Scott Forman, Co-Chair
Wolf Greenfield & Sacks PC
sforman@wolfgreenfield.com
Eric GreenwaldCo-Chair
Axinn, Veltrop & Harkrider LLP
egreenwald@axinn.com 
Lindsay Korotkin, Co-Chair
Arent Fox LLP
lindsay.korotkin@arentfox.com

Board Liaison: Heather Schneider
Members: Heather Bowen, Gina Kim, Nehal Madhani, Tara Melillo, Dorna Mohaghegh, Gabrielle Nagler, Ryan Schneer, Michael Sebba

>>Committee Member Login