Committees

The Association has a combined total of twenty-four active Committees and Delegates, whose scope covers all aspects of intellectual property law and practice and related topics, including alternative dispute resolution, legislative oversight and amicus briefs, meetings and forums, and continuing legal education.

Take advantage of volunteering for one of our many committees! You will have the opportunity to be part of a professionally rewarding activity and develop a strong network that will endure throughout your career. Volunteer activities include helping plan a CLE program, speaking at an event, writing articles for publications and more. Explore the scope of the committees. Committee selection process is open to only members and can be made during membership renewal or directly from your online user profile. To volunteer, please login to www.nyipla.org to access your online user profile. Then select “edit” and choose your committees at the bottom of the screen.

 

Scope of the Committee
To consider all aspects of AI, Cybersecurity and domestic and international privacy laws, and make recommendations thereto the Board of Directors. The Committee will endeavor to conduct a series of substantive CLE programs and networking events, both virtual and in person, exploring each discrete area.

Jessica Copeland, Co-Chair
Bond, Schoeneck & King PLLC
jcopeland@bsk.com

Mark Doerr, Co-Chair
Greenspoon Marder LLP
mark.doerr@gmlaw.com


Board Liaison: Diana Santos

>>Committee Member Login

Scope of the Committee
Mock arbitration, mock mediation and mock neutral CLE programs which will benefit the junior practitioners as well as those that may not have experience in ADR.

Hon. Garrett E. Brown (Ret.), Co-Chair
JAMS
gbrown@jamsadr.com

Thomas L. Creel, Co-Chair
Offices of Thomas L. Creel LLC
tcreel@thomascreel.com

P.J. Murphy, Co-Chair
JAMS
pjcmurphy3@gmail.com


Board Liaison: Robert J. Rando

>>Committee Member Login

Scope of the Committee
The NYIPLA Associate Advisory Council was created in April 2021 with the mission of empowering the next generation of NYIPLA leaders and potential board members and expanding the NYIPLA community.

James Breen, Co-Chair
Goodwin Procter LLP
jamesbreen@goodwinlaw.com

Jennifer Deneault, Co-Chair
Groombridge, Wu, Baughman & Stone LLP
jenna.deneault@groombridgewu.com

Nicholas E. Forgione, Co-Chair
Authentic Brands Group LLC
nforgione@authentic.com

Christine-Marie Lauture, Co-Chair
EOS Worldwide
christine-marie@lautureip.com

Khalil Nobles, Co-Chair
Wilson, Sonsini, Goodrich & Rosati
knobles@wsgr.com


Board Liaison: Eric Greenwald

Scope of the Committee
To coordinate the activities of the Association relating to preparation and submission of amicus briefs, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Paul Coletti, Co-Chair
Johnson & Johnson
pcolett@itsjnj.com
Jeffrey PriceCo-Chair
Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP
jprice@kramerlevin.com  
Irena RoyzmanCo-Chair
Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP
iroyzman@kramerlevin.com  

Board Liaison: David Goldberg

 

Members: Bruce Baber, James Bollinger, Daniel Brooks, Paul Colletti, Leslie Fischer, Brian Gummow, Annemarie Hassett, Marylee Jenkins, Leslie Kushner, Charles Macedo, Joshua Mitchell, Marc Pensabene, Lewis Popovski, Robert Rando, Prajakta Sonalker, Ksenia Takhistova, Marian Underweiser, Margaret Welsh

>>Committee Member Login


The NYIPLA Amicus Briefs are accessible at http://www.nyipla.org/nyipla/AmicusBriefsNews.asp
Wansheng Jerry Liu, Delegate
Fox Rothschild LLP
WLiu@foxrothschild.com
Scope of the Committee
To consider all aspects of United States, foreign and multi-national copyright law and practice, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Mitchell Stein, Co-Chair
BraunHagey & Borden LLP
stein@braunhagey.com

Joshua Weigensberg, Co-Chair
Pryor Cashman LLP
jweigensberg@pryorcashman.com


Board Liaison: Lauren Emerson

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To consider intellectual property issues having an impact on in-house intellectual property counsel, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Eric Greenwald, Chair
Merck & Co Inc.
eric.greenwald@merck.com


Board Liaison: Diana Santos

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To consider all established and emerging issues related to Entertainment, Sports and Social Media including but not limited to the intersectionality of Intellectual Property, Mergers and Acquisitions, and various aspects of technology law. Once identified, recommendations will be presented to the board for the implementation of dynamic programming.

Aliyah Nelson, Co-Chair
Greenspoon Marder LLP
Aliya.Nelson@gmlaw.com

Michael Patrick, Co-Chair
Patrick Law PLLC
michaelpatrickesq@outlook.com


Board Liaison: Cheryl Wang

Scope of the Committee
To consider established and developing intellectual property issues specific to the fashion industry and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Dyan Finguerra, Co-Chair
Pryor Cashman LLP
dfinguerra-ducharme@pryorcashman.com

Douglas Miro, Co-Chair
Amster Rothstein & Ebenstein LLP
dmiro@arelaw.com


Board Liaison: Cheryl Wang

>>Committee Member Login

Dorothy Auth, Chair
Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP
dorothy.auth@dgslaw.com

Patrice Jean, Liaison
Hughes Hubbard & Reed LLP
patrice.jean@hugheshubbard.com


The NYIPLA Hon. Giles S. Rich Diversity Scholarship Recipients and submission forms can be found at http://nyiplef.org/
Scope of the Committee
To publicize and conduct a law school writing competition on an intellectual property law topic, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Timothy Caine, Co-Chair
HEA Law, PLLC
timothy@hea-ip.com

Lauren Hamill, Co-Chair
Day Pitney LLP
lhamill@daypitney.com


Board Liaison: Jenny Lee


The submission forms and Hon. William C. Conner Writing Competition Winners can be found at http://www.nyipla.org/nyipla/ConnerWritingAwards.asp
Scope of the Committee
To solicit, gather, and review nominations for the Inventor of the Year award, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Ksenia Tahkistova, Co-Chair
LCM Biosensor Technologies, LLC
ktakhist@gmail.com


Board Liaison: Heather Schneider

Scope of the Committee
To consider issues and agreements that IP practitioners frequently encounter in connection with intellectual property and technology licensing, development, ownership, and sale including in M&A transactions, and to make recommendations to the Board of Directors regarding emerging issues and educational topics related thereto.

Matthew Makover, Co-Chair
Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP
mmakover@willkie.com

Ketan Pastakia, Co-Chair
White & Case LLP
ketan.pastakia@whitecase.com


Board Liaison: Christopher Loh

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To evaluate proposed federal and state legislation and rules, including PTO and Court rules, that may impact patent and other intellectual property issues; to develop positions and recommendations on the proposed legislation and rules for consideration by the NYIPLA Board of Directors; and to communicate the NYIPLA's positions and recommendations to the legislative and rule-making bodies, as approved by the Board.

Anthony Lo Cicero, Co-Chair
Amster Rothstein & Ebenstein LLP
alocicero@arelaw.com

Michael Johnson, Co-Chair
Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP
mjohnson1@willkie.com


Board Liaison: Paul Bondor

>>Committee Member Login

>>LAC Pharma Subcommittee Member Login

The NYIPLA Legislative Actions are accessible at http://www.nyipla.org/nyipla/Legislative_Action.asp.

Mark J. Abate, Co-Chair
Goodwin Procter LLP
mabate@goodwinlaw.com

Robert M. Isackson, Co-Chair
Leason Ellis LLP
isackson@leasonellis.com


Board Liaison: Diana Santos

Scope of the Committee
To consider all aspects of patent laws and practice which affect the rights of United States entities in technology and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Joy Goudie, Co-Chair
Goudie PLLC
joygoudie@outlook.com

Clint Mehall, Co-Chair
Davidson, Davidson & Kappel LLC
cmehall@ddkpatent.com


Board Liaison: Jeffrey Coleman

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To consider legislation and rules affecting practice and procedural matters in intellectual property litigation outside the Patent and Trademark Office, and other matters relating to practice in such litigation, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Brett Cooper, Co-Chair
BC Law Group, P.C.
bcooper@bc-lawgroup.com

Leslie Spencer, Co-Chair
Desmarais LLP
lspencer@desmaraisllp.com


Board Liaison: Christopher Loh

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To formulate and present a series of monthly continuing legal educational programs of interest to the broad spectrum of the Association's membership, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

David Bomzer, Co-Chair
Cantor Colburn LLP
TDBomzer@cantorcolburn.com

Lynn Russo, Co-Chair
Hughes Hubbard & Reed LLP
lynn.russo@hugheshubbard.com


Board Liaison: Abigail Struthers

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To provide thought leadership in legislation, rules and litigation relating to post-issuance proceedings before the Patent Trial and Appeals Board ("PTAB"), and to make recommendations to the Board. Also to provide lectures and information on latest trends and practice pointers for practice before the PTAB and appeals from PTAB decisions.

Kenneth Adamo, Co-Chair
Law Office of KRAdamo
kradamo23@gmail.com

Charles Macedo, Co-Chair
Amster Rothstein & Ebenstein LLP
cmacedo@arelaw.com


Board Liaison: David Goldberg

Members: Christopher Lisiewski, Chandler Sturm, Thomas Giannetti, Brian Gummow, Joshua Harris, Stuart Pollack, Kenneth Adamo, Linnea Cipriano, Andrew Cochran, Chi Eng, Daniel Huttle, Marylee Jenkins, John Stellabotte, Vi Tran, Laurence Greenberg, Michael Johnson, Christopher Loh, Steven Rizzi, Timothy Rousseau, Margaret Welsh

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To prepare, edit, publish and disseminate such publications as may be requested by the Board of Directors, and to make recommendations to the Board of Directors.

Giselle Mateus, Co-Chair
G.A.M. Law Office P.C.
ayala@gamlawoffice.com

Brian Doyle, Co-Chair
Notaro, Michalos & Zaccaria P.C.
brian.doyle@notaromichalos.com


Board Liaison: Patrice Jean

Members:

>>Committee Member Login

The Report, a quarterly NYIPLA publication, is accessible at https://www.nyipla.org/nyipla/TheReport.asp
Scope of the Committee
To consider all aspects of trademark law and practice, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Deirdre Clarke, Co-Chair
Novartis Pharmaceuticals
deirdre.clarke@novartis.com

Lindsey Utrata, Co-Chair
Latham & Watkins LLP
lindsey.utrata@lw.com


Board Liaison: Lauren Emerson

Members: Lawrence Abelman, Armando Amin, Anna Antonova, Bruce Baber, James Bikoff, Daniel Brooks, Ursula Day, David Einhorn, Anthony Famularo, Christine Feller, Pu Feng, Scott Greenberg, Ethan Horwitz, Patrice Jean, Jeremy King, Heidi Moore, Maren Perry, Rory Radding, Christine Rosenblatt, C. Laure Sawaya, Zoya Shpigelman, Matthew Sklar, Mitchell Stein, Ilene Tannen, Hunter Wang, Robert Wasnofski

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To consider all aspects of trade secret law in the United States and other jurisdictions having an impact on the United States, and to make recommendations with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Kevin Ecker, Co-Chair
Phillips IP
kevin.ecker@philips.com

Laura Chubb, Co-Chair
Organon
laura.chubb@organon.com


Board Liaison: Mark Schildkraut

Members: Jonathan Berschadsky, James Bollinger, Kevin Ecker, Arthur Liberman, William Marsillo, William McCabe, Daniel McGlynn, Douglas Nemec

>>Committee Member Login

Laura Brutman, Delegate
Banner Witcoff
lbrutman@bannerwitcoff.com

Jasmine De Cock, Delegate
Fish & Richardson P.C.
decock@fr.com

Raymond Farrell, Delegate
Carter DeLuca Farrell & Schmidt LLP
rfarrell@cdfslaw.com

John Pegram, Delegate
Fish & Richardson P.C.
pegram@fr.com

Scope of the Committee
To facilitate and empower women in their practice of intellectual property law with respect thereto the Board of Directors.

Anne Li, Co-Chair
Crowell & Moring LLP
ali@crowell.com

Lindsey Miller, Co-Chair
Desmarais LLP
lmiller@desmaraisllp.com


Board Liaison: Ashley Ross

Members: Michele Antis, Omobolaji Bedu, Julie Bookbinder, Margaret Brivanlou, Laura Brutman, Alexandra Burushkina, Hemmie Chang, Ursula Day, Christine Feller, Annemarie Hassett, Leslie Kushner, Abigail Langsam, Jenny Lee, Karen Mangasarian, Kathleen McCarthy, Donna Praiss Christine Rosenblatt, Ashley Ross, Diana Santos, Heather Schneider, Zoya Shpigelman, Prajakta Sonalker, Ilene Tannen, Vi Tran, Liza Walsh, Cheryl Wang

>>Committee Member Login
Scope of the Committee
To address the concerns and needs of minorities, women and newly-admitted lawyers, and to report with respect thereto to the Board of Directors.

Stephanie Casino, Co-Chair
University of New Hampshire Franklin Pierce School of Law
stephanie.casino@law.unh.edu

Jasmine De Cock, Co-Chair
Fish & Richardson P.C.
decock@fr.com

Lindsey Fleischman, Co-Chair
WPP
lindseymfleischman@gmail.com

Alekhya Shastry, Co-Chair
New York University School of Law
alekhyashastry11@gmail.com

Audrey Trace, Co-Chair
Leason Ellis LLP
trace@leasonellis.com


Board Liaison: Linnea Cipriano

Members: Joseph Anderson, Anna Antonova, Omobolaji Bedu, Alexandra Burushkina, Saphya Council, Justine DelVecchio, Eric Greenwald, Ryan Klarberg, Patrick McClay, Heidi Moore, Ryan Schneer, Karan Singh, Prajakta Sonalker

>>Committee Member Login

Committee Chairs Discussion Board

Click HERE to view materials, e-mail fellow members, and participate in the discussion forum.